weeks 5-7

A recap of the past three weeks.

Bonnie Butler true
2021-04-05

My goal for Week 5 had been to reproduce all tables and graphs from Paper 1. Unfortunately, I was not able to do so, for several reasons.

With respect to the graphs for Paper 1, Jenny and I agreed that they are too complex to reproduce in ggplot, and it would be a better use of time to reproduce graphs that are less complex (but not too simple) - somewhere in the middle. I’ve chosen to reproduce Figure 1 from Paper 5, as it seems to meet this criteria. This will involve:

With respect to the tables for Paper 1, I was able to reproduce Table 1 quite well, with the following exceptions:

Given the above results were obtained using the same data, and that some of the descriptives for certain measures (e.g., M and SD for Weight, and SD and range for Hunger) were replicated, it is likely that there was some manual error by the experimenters when transferring results from one program to Word (or the like).

I then tried to use the tableby function to reproduce Tables 2 and 3 for Paper 1. However, in doing so, I encountered the following issues:

After discussing these issues with Jenny, we established that this discrepancy in descriptives is likely to not be due to any errors on my part, but instead to possible manual errors by the experimenter (see above). To produce a clearer table separating the Water and Sprite conditions, we can mutate the data set to add an extra column for Condition - Sprite or Water. In doing so, I can also change the names of how the conditions appear (i.e., dummy1_water_sprite), since they are rather messy.

My goals for Week 8 are as follows: